where are you

1blog
the sun has disappeared behind the dirt
but the moon hides her face tonight
my house is in order
another quiet ending
to another noisy day
there’s no need to sit at the table
with dinner prepared for only one
an evening without conversation
no playful banter echoes off these walls
i open a book and put on music
the angst-driven voice soothing me
singing, “where are you?”
and i am saddened
because my heart understands the lyric
as i sip my tea and stare
at random dark spots on the carpet
i can’t help but wonder
if you’ve forgotten your mission
to find me
did you get lost along the way
or perhaps stop to visit
the castle of another queen
or are you simply taking your time
savoring your freedom
drawing out this torture
unconcerned with how i need you
more than i ever have before


Posted

in

by